Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

image

A beautiful new thriller that pays homage to the classic style yet bring something new to the genre.

The Girl on the Train 4.5/5🌟

I absolutely loved this book!

The characters especially made this book for me, they are incredibly real and flawed in a way that makes them kind of annoying but oh so believable. I know this sounds odd but I really enjoyed reading a novel that manages to make me loathe and love the character in equal measures.

The main mystery is exciting and paced nicely and when it all comes together beautifully in the end it was just so satisfying. The Girl on the Train has the feel classic thriller in terms of suspense and build-up but there is something new and exciting about the way Hawkins has portrayed the genre than already has me waiting at the edge of my seat for her next novel.

I also have to highlight the journal style writing (that I love so much), it’s done with shifting perspectives/narrators as well as flashbacks which just makes the book even harder to put down once you’ve started reading.

It wasn’t what I expected from the blurb but it was an thrilling and exciting read nonetheless! I did however figure out who the killer was a bit before I think the book meant me too so it looses half a star because of it.

– Christine

(I actually finished this several weeks ago and post my review on IG but I figured I might as well add it here too)

Leave a Reply

